The Education Action Network

Taking Back America By Taking Back Our Schools

Arizona Empowerment Accounts: to help disabled students to escape failing schools

 

Text of SB1553:

http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/50leg/1r/bills/sb1553p.htm

 

Text of HB2706

http://www.azleg.gov/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/legtext/50leg/1r/bills/hb2706p.htm

 

Senate Bill 1553, introduced by Sen. Rick Murphy, and House Bill 2706, introduced by Rep. Debbie Lesko, would create a system of Arizona Empowerment Accounts designed to help disabled students to escape failing union-controlled public schools and enroll in independent, non-government schools. Arizona Empowerment Accounts would also save taxpayers money in the state and local K-12 education system, because the amount deposited in a child’s account would be less than the total amount allocated for that child under the current system.

Please TAKE ACTION NOW to send emails to your legislators in support of these important education freedom bills.

Here are updates on the education freedom bills:

SB 1312 (STO tax credits) just passed the Senate Finance Committee (on Thursday, February 10), thanks to the Yes votes of Senators Ron Gould (R-Mohave County, rgould@azleg.gov), Lori Klein (R-Anthem/North Phoenix, lklein@azleg.gov), John McComish (R-Ahwatukee/Chandler, jmccomish@azleg.gov), and Steve Yarbrough (R-Chandler, syarbrough@azleg.gov), and no thanks to the NO votes of Senators Paula Aboud (D-Tucson) and Jack Jackson (D-NE Counties). Please send thank-you emails to the Yes voters!

SB 1553 (empowerment accounts for disabled kids) will be heard this coming Monday, February 14, sometime after 2:00 pm, before the Senate Education Committee, which comprises Senators Sylvia Allen (R-Eastern Counties), Nancy Barto (R-NE Phoenix/Cave Creek), Rich Crandall (R-Mesa), Linda Gray (R-NW Phoenix), Lori Klein (R-Anthem/North Phoenix), Linda Lopez (D-Tucson), David Schapira (D-Tempe), and Steve Smith (R-Pinal County). The email addresses for the committee members are: sallen@azleg.gov, nbarto@azleg.gov, rcrandall@azleg.gov, lgray@azleg.gov, lklein@azleg.gov, llopez@azleg.gov, dschapira@azleg.gov, stevesmith@azleg.gov. If you would like to attend the committee hearing, or would like to register in support of the bill on ALIS, contact AFP-Arizona director Tom Jenney for more information: tjenney@afphq.org.

HB 2581 (STO tax credits) and HB 2706 (empowerment accounts for disabled kids) will appear before the House Ways and Means Committee, but have not yet been scheduled. The members of the House W&M Committee are Representatives Tom Chabin (D-Flagstaff), Steve Farley (D-Tucson), Ruben Gallego (D-South Phoenix), Rick Gray (R-Sun City/Peoria), Jack W. Harper (R-Surprise/NW Valley), Debbie Lesko (R-Sun City/Peoria), J.D. Mesnard (R-Chandler), Justin Olson (R-Mesa), and Ted Vogt (R-East Tucson/SE Pima County). The email addresses for the committee members are: tchabin@azleg.gov, sfarley@azleg.gov, rgallego@azleg.gov, rgray@azleg.gov, jharper@azleg.gov, dlesko@azleg.gov, jmesnard@azleg.gov, jolson@azleg.gov, tvogt@azleg.gov. If you would like to attend the committee hearing once it’s scheduled, or would like to register in support of the bill on ALIS, contact AFP-Arizona director Tom Jenney for more information: tjenney@afphq.org.



Read more: http://www.americansforprosperity.org/021011-urgent-health-care-education-freedom-bills##ixzz1Dr8AurJ3

Views: 30

About

Harry Mathews created this Ning Network.

© 2022   Created by Harry Mathews.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service